Leader Recognition


IMPORTANT NOTE:  Adults only receive recognition when other adult volunteers take the time to fully complete the applications and turn them in on time.  Applications for Silver Beaver, National Scoutmaster Award of Merit, District Award of Merit and Leader of the Year forms are available for download from the FORMS section of this website.  Please ask your unit commissioner or District Committee Member for guidance if needed. Help is always available at the monthly Roundtable.  

As a movement whose leadership is overwhelmingly volunteer, the Boy Scouts of America recognizes the need to acknowledge the invaluable services that men and women render to youth. Of the hundreds of awards that the BSA presents each year to those on the local council, regional, and national levels, the Silver Buffalo, Silver Antelope, Silver Beaver, and Silver World awards are the most prestigious. Although the criteria are different for each of these awards, there is one common thread: The recognitions are granted by one's own peers in Scouting for distinguished service to youth.  The Silver Beaver is awarded at the Council level.

Nomination forms can be downloaded from the Documents Section of this website


Silver Beaver

Established in 1931, the Silver Beaver Award is presented for distinguished service to young people within a BSA local council. More than 50,000 recognitions have been conferred to date. A recipient must be a registered adult member of the BSA. The awards are bestowed at appropriate local functions. Silver Beaver Awards are presented on the basis of the number of units in a council.  In the Western Los Angeles County Council, the Silver Beaver Awards are typically awarded at the January Council Dinner.  Nominations are collected throughout the year and are due typically within the month of October.   Nomination Form


Within the Las Colinas District we also try to recognize outstanding local registered scout volunteers.  Every June, at a special Round Table dinner we award special recognitions.  The District Award of Merit is the highest honor that is given.  Outstanding Leaders of the Year (by function) are also awarded.    

District Award of Merit

The District Award of Merit is typically given to an individual who shows outstanding character and has given meaningful service of an outstanding nature at the district level.  Typically, the Award of Merit is given to individuals who have not only contributed at the unit level, but are also recognized for service within the district. 

Leader of the Year

Nomination Form

The Leader(s) of the Year awards are given to many volunteers depending on position – Cubmaster of the Year, Committee Chair of the Year, Den Leader of the Year, etc.  These awards are given to outstanding leaders who contribute and provide excellent service at the unit level.  They are typically nominated by others in their unit or commissioners and other district personnel who see their excellent service.

Scouter's Training Award

How do you get it? Meet these requirements.

Scoutermaster's Key Award

How do you get it? Meet these requirements.

Unit Leaders's Award of Merit
How do you get it? Meet these requirements.


Please refer to the following website links for information on awarding KNOTs to unit leaders.  This is an important part of leader recognition. 



Should you need any help or assistance with any of these award applications, please contact your “friend of the unit,” your Unit Commissioner.  If you do not know who your unit commissioner is, please attend a Roundtable and talk to the District Commissioner or District Committee Chair for assistance.